Boreal

Books

About

Children and the Koran - The End of Empathy

Boreal Books, 186 pages $14.59 CDN

US

IBook soon

A day after I announced the publication of what will undoubtedly be my last book on the Koran I received the first of what I expect will be many accusations of bigotry.

Associating criticism of Islam with bigotry and racism is a favourite if notorious tactic of those looking to silence critics with what they hope will be discussion-ending slurs. Slander is the lesser risk with which one must deal. The greater risk, of course, is the one exemplified by the murders, in the tradition of the Prophet, at Charlie Hebdo.

I hope my comprehensive argument against exposing children to a violent pitiless doctrine until they are old enough to decide for themselves if unbelievers are really Allah’s enemies deserving of the hate and viciousness He extols will be viewed in the spirit it was intended: to make our world a more peaceful place and avoid a ruthless faith-based conflict with ISIS-like atrocities on a scale not seen since World War II.

Islam - Excerpts & Essays  

Boreal and Religion

The Canadian Experience

The Sincere DeceiversTeach Your Children WellThe Fractured Nation InterviewsRemembering Uzza

What If?

Why the Pessimism?

If we survive the end-times apocalypse the believers yearn to see engulf the world so that a promise made in scriptures of a replacement Paradise in the Hereafter for those who hasten the destruction of the one here is fulfilled, we may still call ourselves Christians, Jews and Muslims as a reminder of the criminally naive people we once were.

Christian: someone who once believed in the Gospels.

Jew: someone who once believed in the Torah.

Muslim: someone who once believed in the Koran.

Faith: "believing in something you know to be untrue"Twain

Religion: how you get good people to do bad things.Weinberg

What if we became the Christians, Jews and Muslims of tomorrow, today and avoided the apocalypse altogether. One can always hope ...

About Me

These are the times that try men's souls.  The Crisis, Thomas Paine

In my books, essays and comments on the Koran, the Prophet and Islam, in the tradition of Thomas Paine, I have tried to explain the seemingly complicated in terms we can all understand in a lonely attempt to lessen the willful ignorance that will be our undoing.

Vindication