Off Topic

I now expect to publish Shooting the Messenger - Till Death Do Us Part, the sequel to Shooting the Messenger – A Whistleblower’s Tale on or about May 28. No need to purchase the original edition as I have included a slightly abridged version in Till Death Do Us Part.

Synopsis

ISLAM

Books, Essays & Comments

Any study beside that of the Quran is a distraction, except the Hadiths and jurisprudence in the religion. Knowledge is what He [Muhammad] narrated to us, and anything other than that is the whispering of the Satan.

Al-Qaeda

The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge.

Stephen Hawking 1942-2018

THE INDISPENSIBLE FOUR

LOVE, SEX & ISLAM

Paperback, 198 pages

AMAZON:  USA  UK  Canada  Australia

If I am able convince believers who may be contemplating martyrdom not to be in such a hurry to get at those houris only to be disappointed, then the almost twenty years I have dedicated to the study of the world's fastest growing religion will not have been in vain. 

Excerpts: Anne Part 2 | Mary | Sex by the Numbers

REMEMBERING UZZA

If Islam Was Explained to Me in a Pub

Paperback, 452 pages

AMAZON: USA  UK  Canada  Australia

Remembering Uzza is meant to make learning about Islam a mostly pleasant experience while not sugar-coating or leaving out the nasty bits. And, is there a better place to get acquainted with a religion that has everyone talking than in the relaxed atmosphere of a favourite pub, in the company of friends and a troubled but engaging young woman to give you an insider's perspective?

Excerpts: No Scarf, No Service! | A Shirley Temple, Anyone?

CHILDREN AND THE KORAN

The End of Empathy

Paperback, 136 pages

AMAZON: USA   UK   Canada   Australia

"It is only by teaching children to question the validity of scriptures that we protect them from being influenced by fundamentalist doctrines. It is precisely the lack of critical thinking (when it comes to scriptures) which leads to radicalism."

André Gagné, Professor Theological Studies, Concordia University

Excerpts: The End of Empathy | Getting Kids To Feel Nothing | Little Boys Learning To Hate Little Girls and Little Girls to Hate Themselves

LET ME REPHRASE THAT!

Your Layman's Guide to Abrogations - Second Edition

Paperback, 100 pages

AMAZON: USA  UK  Canada  Australia

2:106 Whichever verse We abrogate or cause to be forgotten, We bring instead a better or similar one. Do you not know that Allah has the power over all things? | 16:101 And if We replace a verse by another – and Allah knows best what He reveals – they say: “You [Muhammad] are only a forger.” Surely, most of them do not know.

Excerpt: A Harvest of Contradictions


Tolerance and respect are empty virtues until we actually know something about whomever it is we are supposed to be tolerating or respecting.

Stephen Prothero, author of the NY Times bestseller Religious Literacy

In my writings on the Koran, Muhammad and Islam, in the tradition of Thomas Paine, I have tried to explain the seemingly complicated in terms we can all understand in what has become, with my Lucette's passing, a solitary campaign against the willful ignorance that will be our undoing.

Why the Pessimism?

Stopping the Draining of the Light

A Dialogue on the Koran

CONTACT